Slider
Skyline of the city of San Francisco & a picture of attorney John Stanko
  • DUI, Traffic Tickets and Criminal Defense
  • Aggressive Representation
  • More Than 20 Years of Experience
  • Free Consultation
  • Available 24/7
Justia Lawyer Rating

With the legalization of recreational marijuana in California police officer want you to know that if you drive high you can get a DUI.  But there is no per se limit or chemical threshold like the .08 blood alcohol level, for driving after consuming marijuana.  DUI prosecutions for driving under the influence of cannabis are based on police officer observations of driving and of the driver.

NHTSA, the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration reported to Congress in July 2017 that setting THC levels for driving “is not meaningful.”  THC, Tetrahydrocannabinol, is the psychoactive component in marijuana. Not having a THC threshold limit can make marijuana DUI difficult to prosecute.

drinking and driving conviction for a first offense in Marin County or elsewhere in the San Francisco Bay Area can result in punishment including probation, fines, a DUI school and up to 6 months in jail under the California Vehicle Code. Drivers with multiple DUI offenses for driving under the influence face even greater punishment. Whether arrested for DUI in Dixon, Vacaville, Fairfield, Vallejo, or Benicia, you need to call an experienced aggressive driving under the influence attorney for help.

Since January 1, 2018, Californians over the age of 21 have been able to legally purchase possess and consume cannabis recreationally.

The new California law permits adults 21 and up to buy 1 ounce of cannabis per day, which is enough material to fill a few dozen joints. You can alternately purchase up to 8 grams of cannabis concentrates found in marijuana edibles such as candies, brownies and breakfast bars.6 a.m. and 10 p.m. people can legally purchase cannabis.  With the passage of Proposition 64 you can now legally possess cannabis and can purchase up to 1 ounce of buds or 8 grams of concentrated cannabis per day.  You will need to show proper identification and most likely pay case and recreational dispensaries do not take credit.

Unfortunately, marijuana possession remains illegal federally.

The Vallejo Police Department will be conducting an enhanced DUI enforcement during the 2018 Super Bowl weekend.  Vallejo Police will deploy extra officers in an effort to bust drunk and impaired drivers and the Solano County agency indicates that anyone showing signs of alcohol or drug impairment will be stopped and arrested.

A conviction for a first offense DUI in Solano County or anywhere in the Bay Area can result in punishment including probation, fines, a DUI school and up to 6 months in jail under the California Vehicle Code. Drivers with multiple offenses for driving under the influence face even greater punishment. Whether arrested for DUI in Dixon, Vacaville, Fairfield, Vallejo, or Benicia, you need to call an experienced aggressive driving under the influence attorney for help.

For more information about driving under the influence charges, suspended license charges and traffic tickets in Vallejo, Solano County and throughout the greater Bay Area, or for a free consultation, call Solano County DUI attorney John Stanko at 415-755-8899, or toll free at 1-877-204-8900.

 

Posted in:
Updated:

The California Highway Patrol found a driver passed out behind the wheel of his car on the Bay Bride and arrested him for DUI.  The driver informed the officers that his Tesla was on autopilot and the he was not driving.  After arresting the driver, the San Francisco CHP found his blood alcohol level to be allegedly more than twice the .08% legal limit.

drinking and driving conviction for a first offense in San Francisco, Marin County or in most counties throughout the San Francisco Bay Area can result in punishment including probation, fines, a DUI school and up to 6 months in jail under the California Vehicle Code.  Drivers with multiple DUI offenses for driving under the influence face even greater punishment. Whether arrested for DUI in San Francisco, Oakland, Sausalito, or Daly City, you need to call an experienced aggressive driving under the influence attorney for help.

For more information about driving under the influence, traffic or criminal charges in Marin County, San Francisco and throughout the Bay Area, or for a free consultation, call attorney John Stanko at 415-755-8899, or toll free at 1-877-204-8900.

 

Arrests for DUI by the California Highway Patrol went up dramatically over the 2017 holiday season compared to 2016. Statewide, more people were arrested in California for driving over the influence during the Thanksgiving and Christmas weekends in 2017.  The CHP arrested 936 people for DUI from December 29, 2017 to January 1, 2018, an increase of 22 percent increase over last year.

The Golden Gate Division of the CHP, serving the Bay Area, arrested 157 people for DUI, nearly double the number in 2016.

drinking and driving conviction for a first offense in Marin County or elsewhere in the San Francisco Bay Area can result in punishment including probation, fines, a DUI school and up to 6 months in jail under the California Vehicle Code. Drivers with multiple DUI offenses for driving under the influence face even greater punishment. Whether arrested for DUI in Dixon, Vacaville, Fairfield, Vallejo, or Benicia, you need to call an experienced aggressive driving under the influence attorney for help.

Posted in:
Updated:

The California Highway Patrol Santa Rosa Area office made 22 driving under the influence arrests over the 2017-2018 New Year’s weekend.  The CHP also reported making 14 arrests the prior week over the Christmas weekend.  The Santa Rosa Area CHP reports that they normally make 12 to 15 DUI arrests every weekend throughout the year.

From November 22, 2017 through January 2, 2018, the Santa Rosa police made 74 DUI arrests, up from 64 last year.

If you receive a speeding ticket, cell phone ticket, DUI or other traffic related offense in on a Petaluma, Rhonert Park, Novato, San Rafael or anywhere in Northern California, call an experienced aggressive traffic ticket and DUI attorney for help.

Posted in:
Updated:

The Solano County District Attorney’s Office has received an annual grant to prosecute DUIs.  The grant is for more than $300,000 and is the sixth grant in six years that the DA has received.

District Attorney Krishna Abrams said, “The prosecution of driving under the influence cases continues to be a top priority.”

A  conviction for a first offense DUI in Solano County or anywhere in the Bay Area can result in punishment including probation, fines, a DUI school and up to 6 months in jail under the California Vehicle Code. Drivers with multiple offenses for driving under the influence face even greater punishment. Whether arrested for DUI in Dixon, Vacaville, Fairfield, Vallejo, or Benicia, you need to call an experienced aggressive driving under the influence attorney for help.

On November 3, 2017, police in New York City arrested Rapper Fetty Wap for DUI and other traffic offenses.  Police contacted the rapper after he was spotted drag racing on a  a New York City highway.

Fetty Was was  s given a breathalyzer test and had a blood alcohol concentration of.09.  The New York legal limit of .08.

If you are arrested for drunk driving, or if you get a traffic ticket in Novato, San Rafael, Sausalito, or anywhere in Marin County call an experienced aggressive traffic ticket and DUI defense attorney for help.

Posted in:
Updated:

On Wednesday, October 25, 2017 the California Highway Patrol in Napa County arrested a 63 year old Marin County woman for drunk driving after she was involved in a head on collision.  The Novato woman suffered serious injuries as a result of the three-car collision.  Police said that she crashed head-on into a 2009 Toyota and then into a 2015 Honda.

California drivers who are arrested for a DUI in Napa, Marin or any of the State’s fifty-eight counties face the possibility of jail time, the loss of their driving privilege, fines and mandatory attendance at a DUI school if convicted. The costs of defending a drunk driving case can sometimes exceed $10,000.
Continue reading

Posted in:
Updated:

On Sunday August 6, 2017, a Santa Rosa man was arrested for driving under the influence, hit-and-run and evading police after crashing his car into a Subway sandwich shop.  A police officer from the California Highway Patrol attempted to stop the car for for speeding on The 101 Southbound around 1 a.m. but the driver failed to stop.  The officer initiated a short pursuit until losing sight of the vehicle.

Sonoma county drivers face an estimated $10,000.00 expense for a first DUI and a conviction for DUI along with other charges such as evading a police officer and hit and run,  can result in increased penalties and possible jail time.  Court fines and costs on a drunk driving case can be more than $2,000.00 and drivers must also pay for attendance at a driving under the influence program and increased insurance premiums. Continue reading
Contact Information