Articles Posted in Negligent Operator

As the Novel Coronavirus has resulted in most Californians being told to shelter in place and only essential travel is allowed on our highways, The California Highway Patrol is reporting a rise in motorists traveling at excessive speeds.

The CHP’s Golden Gate Division posted on Facebook on March 4, 2020, that there had been a “steady rise” in the number of tickets issued for drivers going in excess of 100 mph throughout the nine county San Francisco Bay Area.

If you receive a speeding ticket for exceeding 100 mph you could be punished by fines of approximately $800.00, and could have your driver’s license suspended for 30 days.  In addition, a 100 mph citation for speeding carries two points on a driver’s DMV record.  Drivers facing any moving violation in Novato, San Rafael, San Francisco, Oakland, or anywhere in the Bay Area should call an experienced aggressive traffic ticket attorney for help.

________________________________________ JOHN W. STANKO Attorney at Law
San Francisco Red Light Camera Reduced to a no pointer Sonoma Speeding with accident (no traffic school) Negotiated traffic school Marin Driving over double yellow lines Dismissed
Many traffic tickets in California are classified as moving violations and carry points on a person’s driving record. Accruing too many points, 4 in 12 months, 6 in 24 months, or 8 in 36 months will result in the DMV designating a person a negligent operator which carries a driver’s license suspension.

Moving violations also effect insurance rates for up to 3 years.

An experienced traffic ticket defense attorney can work to get tickets dismissed or reduced to charges that do not carry DMV points.
Continue reading

Local traffic Attorney John Stanko beats tickets in Solano County and throughout the San Francisco Bay Area.

California Traffic Ticket Victories – November 2012

Solano County.
Speeding ticket, violation of Vehicle Code section 22349 on I80 in Fairfield. Violation amended to a not point non moving violation. Client’s driving record is not assessed negligent operator points.

Marin County.
San Rafael red light camera violation is dismissed. Client convicted of no point violation.

Solano County.
Out of state commercial truck diver charged with speeding in violation of Vehicle Code section 22406. Case reduced to a no point mechanical violation.
Continue reading

On November 24, 2010, Santa Rosa Police Officers using grant funds provided by the California Office of Traffic Safety, through the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, conducted a courthouse sting aimed at DUI drivers and drivers with suspended licenses or no driver license. The sting resulted in officers arresting four people for driver’s license related offenses.

The operation of the sting consisted of Police officers waiting and watching defendants, who had been ordered by the court not to drive due to suspended or revoked driving privileges, to see if they would get into cars and drive away from the courthouse. In all, officers followed ten such people out of court. Four of those ten people got into their cars and drove away from the Sonoma County Courthouse and were stopped by waiting police officers.

Driving on a suspended or revoked license can carry serious consequences if convicted. California Vehicle Code section 14601 et sec, details the various charges and punishments for driving on a suspension. Those punishments vary depending on the reason for the suspension. If a driver license is suspended for being a negligent operator or failing to appear in court a person may receive a reduced charge if they can get their driver license reinstated but they could be placed on probation and pay large fines if convicted. Drivers who lose their driver license due to driving under influence conviction face a minimum fine of $1,000.00, ten days in jail, and the mandatory installation of an ignition interlock device if convicted of a violation of Vehicle Code section 14601.2 for driving while suspended.
Continue reading

Three people were arrested on Monday while driving away from the courthouse after being told by a judge not to drive.

Costa Mesa, Orange County, Police Officers, staked out sixteen offenders and followed them to the parking lot after they were instructed by a judge not to drive. Four of those people got behind the wheel and drove away from the courthouse. Officers stopped all four drivers and issued three citations for driving on a suspended license and one for driving while unlicensed. The sting was funded by a grant from the California Office of Traffic Safety, through the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration.

California drivers are subject to license suspensions for a variety of reasons including failure to appear in court or failure to pay fines, arrest or conviction for DUI, or being deemed a negligent operator for acquiring to many moving violation points. Depending on the reason for a suspension, a conviction can result in jail time, fines, the installation of an ignition interlock device and vehicle impoundment or forfeiture. Drivers may have the right to a DMV administrative hearing to contest their suspension.
Continue reading

Contact Information